Skip to content

Mini Victoria sponge cakes recipe – Delicious magazine

January 17, 2011

I first spotted this week’s recipe a few months ago, and squirreled it away in my must have bakes folder for a later date. The date came in September when I found some mango curd at a food festival that was bloody lovely.

But me being me, I waited until January to actually crack it out and get on with it. The original recipe called for lemon curd, but as mango is probably my favourite fruit (exotic at least) I knew these would be just as good.

Other mini-Victoria sponge recipes call for you to use specific little baking tins. I think it’s unpractical to have tiny little baking tins cluttering up your kitchen only to be wheeled out once a year. I loved that to make this, you only needed a humble cupcake tin, something all of us surely have.

Anyway, back to the point, there’s not much to describe about the process of making the cake batter, as this is just a basic sponge, nothing extravagant, just does the job. Once you’ve made up the batter you spoon it in to the cupcake holes (buttered, not lined – you’re not making cupcakes, remember) and once it’s been for a nick of time you’re ready to start assembling.

Now, as usual, I came across a little hurdle. When my cakes come out of the oven, they were pointy, as in they had risen. I looked at them with head cocked, wondering how on earth I was going to recreate the beautiful flat tops I’d seen in the magazine picture. Put these creations together and they’d have looked not unlike a Doctor Who creature (which may or may not float your boat, depending on your point of view).

It took me longer that it really should have to realise that if you cut the tops off, then used the bottom as the top then you’d have the flattened tops as previously mentioned. It made no reference to this in the recipe, and it really is easier than it should be to confuse me – so if you ever find yourself in this odd predicament, you’ll know what to do.

I also struggled to get my swirls of cream and mango curd to look as perfect as in the recipe, but at least it proves these were home-made and not batch processed. The only other problem was what to do with the leftover “cut-off” tops.
We don’t like waste in this house (we don’t like it but I do it all the time, but anyway…) so I found you could make even mini-er versions of mini Victoria sponges that made for great little bitesize portions and gave me a good idea for party food in the future…

Setup: From now on, I’ve decided to include a paragraph or two about the setup with each post, for those that are interested in photography and styling.

This was a plain purple base, with a cake stand (Christmas present from my nephew – hence the child’s handprints in the pictures) and a purple leaf background, which is art paper from Paperchase. In terms of photography, these were either taken with a 35mm lens or 50mm lens. Only lighting comes from the window, nothing else. If you want to know more about the exif data for each photograph, you can find them on my Flickr stream.

Right, so here’s the usual gumpf:

Taste: 4.5/5 DELICIOUS! I loved these, the mango curd being just tart enough, the simple cake, put them together and what do you get – scrumminess.

Difficulty: 2/5 Once you’ve mastered the art of lopping off cake tops, pretty easy.
Amendments: Changed lemon curd for mango curd – and I didn’t make my own like it suggests you *can* do in the recipe, if you want. I don’t want.

Chance of remake: Well as it happens, I do have a lot of mango curd left….

You can find the mini Victoria sponge cakes with lemon curd and cream recipe on the Taste.com.au recipe website, and as it’s exactly the same picture as in Delicious Magazine June 2010, I’m assuming it’s the same recipe.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

