Skip to content

Christmas biscuits recipe

December 19, 2010

Baking is one of the most enjoyable things about Christmas, well in my opinion anyway. This year I’ve decided to bake a couple of different things – you’ll be able to see the other later in the week. First up though, we have Christmas themed biscuits.

Biscuits are probably one of my favourite things to make, both for their ease and the fun you can have decorating them. These of course are no exception. I made these with the intention of sharing with my collegues on our Christmas party day, and I hope they bought jolity to the office.

There was absolutely nothing difficult about making these, which are a little bit like gingerbread, but with just the faintest hint of cinnamon. This was one of the good old bung it all in a bowl and hope for the best.

This bake also included a hunt for light brown sugar, something that proved strangely illusive in my immediate vicinity for some unknown reason. Fear not, sugar fans, though as I once I’d tracked down some I bought 3 packets. For a light brown sugar substitute though you can use some dark brown sugar mixed in with caster sugar and you should be more or less alright.

So here’s the usual nonsense:

Taste: 4.5/5 I love ginger and cinnamon, and these were a great texture and weren’t too hard or too soft. Great.

Difficulty: 1/5 Bung it all in – not difficult at all.

Amendments: None

Chance of remake: 4/5 Next Christmas…

You can find this week’s Christmas biscuits recipe on the Waitrose website, but you can just add half a teaspoon of ginger and half a teaspoon of cinnamon to any basic biscuit recipe and you can acheive a similar effect.

Coming later this week… mince pies.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

