Skip to content

Traditional apple pie recipe – BBC Food

December 13, 2010

Apple pie is a firm family favourite for pretty much everyone, and, while you can buy more than tasty versions in the shops, I felt it perhaps should be a staple dessert that I can whip up at a moment’s notice. Plus I have a special pie tin (with holes in the base in case you wondered).

Cooking up the pie was a relatively simple process, and the smell of stewing apples filled the house with a beautiful aroma that really just says ‘Sunday’ – whatever that smells like. Next, I even made my own pastry, which was nothing fancy and pretty simple. Unfortunately, the recipe I used was obviously intended for a smaller dish as there wasn’t quite enough to cover the top.

Sadly, I didn’t realise this until the final moment when I went to place the blanket of pastry atop the pie. Being half of the ‘oh well never mind what it looks like’ school of thought and half ‘oh crap what are the pictures going to look like’ way of thinking I did my best to at least cover the top with various scraps of pastry.

In the end I manage to cover the top of the pie with a less-than-photoshoot worthy piece of pastry. My solution? Only shoot a portion of pie and not the whole of it. No one would be any the wiser had I not mentioned it here, but I like the blog to be honest and upfront of course.  😉

After half an hour or so in the oven the pie was complete, and once more delicious aromas permeated from the kitchen. Yum yum yum. I got the pie out of the oven and the gorgeous golden pastry looked just right – I couldn’t wait to tuck into this beast.

I’m pretty lazy so I couldn’t be bothered to make my own custard, but the shop bought variety worked a treat with this pie and I’m happy to say that despite appearances, the whole ensemble was bloody lovely.

So, here’s to the usual malarky:

Taste: 4/5 Perhaps I might add a bit of sugar to the pastry next time to sweeten it up, but overall this was pretty spot-on.

Difficulty: 1/5 I always assumed making apple pie was a little bit tricky. Can’t recall why. But in reality, making pastry is a pretty simple affair, so long as you make the appropriate amount. The most time consuming part of this bake is peeling apples.

Amendments: None

Chance of remake: 3/5 Now that I’ve tried this I can have a go at mastering the pastry making and trying other fruits.

You can find this week’s apple pie recipe on the BBC Food website. That said, apple pie recipes are pretty ubiquitous so whatever your favourite food site is, they’re bound to have something to suit your needs.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Oliver permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:39 pm

    Very impressed with how professional this site is and the high standard of not only the photography but the cooking! 🙂 Your photos are brilliant, Amy 🙂

    Karen

    • amydavies permalink*
      December 20, 2010 12:14 am

      Thank you Karen, that’s very kind of you to say!

      Most of these images were taken with my 1000D, which just shows that you don’t really need anything fancy to acheive what you want. Although I did use a 50mm 1.4 lens from about April onwards, which clearly helped a lot.

      I’ve just upgraded to a new camera but I’m incredibly proud of some of the images I took with my old setup. I love food photography because it allows me to be creative in a relatively easy way. I can experiment with different colours, background, textures and set-ups, all from the comfort of my own home. You may be amused to know that a fair amount of the pics are taken in what I jokingly call my studio. Which comprises of my ironing board(!) next to the window with an appropriate backround.

      I’m thinking of doing a post soon on the “process” of a shoot – as I know some people who are more interested in food photography than baking read this as well as foodies. You should definitely give it a go – it’s extremely rewarding!

      Amy

  2. Karen Oliver permalink
    December 30, 2010 12:12 am

    Look forward to the post, Amy! 🙂

    I am going to give it a go in the new year.

    Karen

Leave a Reply

