Skip to content

Nigella flourless chocolate and lime cake

November 15, 2010

Having bought the new Nigella Kitchen book a few weeks ago and indulging in watching the accompanying TV show, I thought it was high time I actually gave one of the recipes a go. All it took was a quick flick through the book for this to catch my eye. I was having friends over for dinner, and everyone loves chocolate.

Now lime and chocolate aren’t two ingredients I’d have naturally thought of putting  together, but much like Nigella herself, perhaps it shouldn’t work, but it does. This recipe would be suitable for anybody with a gluten intolerance as it replaces flour with ground almonds to great effect – I wouldn’t have guessed in a blind-taste test that is.

The only thing I would have to say about the taste is that the lime was very subtle. The occasional pockets of lime zest aside, it could really do with being oomphed up a bit. Perhaps it’s my fault, the lime was quite small, but I think if I make this again I’d add the zest and juice of another lime to really give it some zing.

This cake also lasted wonderfully well, and was perfect heated up in the microwave for just a few seconds and served next to a delicious scoop of melting ice cream. Delicious. Alternatively, grabbing a quick, decadent slice was also great as it tasted beautiful cold too. If you wanted to add some extra oomph to this, you could serve it with a raspberry or cherry coulis, something faintly sharp to set off the sweetness of the chocolate.

Whichever way you have it, this is an indulgent treat for those with or without allergies, and one I’d highly recommend to anyone and doubly highly recommend to any sufferers who believe you can’t find a tasty gluten free cake.

The usual:

Taste: 4/5 If only the lime was a bit more noticeable, this would score higher, but with only the odd burst of it, it feels like it’s a mistake rather than an intentional ingredient.

Difficulty: 2/5 Not difficult at all – I thought these might be as tricksy as the brownies I’ve previously cooked, but not so. The only thing here was the oven timings were slightly off. Nigella said to cook for 45 minutes but check after 35, by 35 mine was perhaps a little overcooked if anything – so something to watch out for.

Amendments: None.

Chance of remake: 3/5 I’ve been looking for a good, simple, chocolate cake recipe – maybe this will be my go-to recipe of choice in future.

You can find Nigella’s flourless chocolate and lime cake recipe in her latest book, Kitchen. For more of her recipes, visit the Nigella website or check BBC Food.

Coming up soon: traditional apple pie!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sonya permalink
    January 20, 2011 12:58 am

    Hi Amy,

    Firstly.. love your blog..
    I came across it when googling a receipe a while back and signed up to your mailing list.
    Nigella’s new book was under my tree for Christmas and this receipe also caught my eye.

    I have recently been diagnosed with Endometrosis and flour/wheat are some of the foods I need to reduce.. Thinking my love of baking could not suffer, I looked for non-flour alternatives.. thus this cake.

    I made it today – and would totally agree with your comments.
    35 mins mine was ready and maybe would have been better at 30 mins.
    I also said to myself, 2 limes next time..
    I will definetly remake – beautiful very moreish cake.

    Happy Baking!
    Sonya
    Dublin, Ireland.

    • amydavies permalink*
      January 20, 2011 11:44 am

      Hi Sonya,

      Thank you for your kind comments – so glad you like the blog 🙂

      I loved this recipe, I’d also like to cut down on the amount of flour/wheat I consume, so this was great when I saw it.

      I’ve heard so many fantastic things about Phil Vickery’s latest book on gluten-free baking, lots of recipes seem to be appearing on a few magazines now – have you tried that?

      It’s not like Nigella to be off with timings, perhaps we’re both doing something wrong, or she just has a better oven 😀

      Thanks again,

      Amy

  2. Sonya permalink
    January 21, 2011 5:35 pm

    Hi Amy,
    Thank’s for the reply and the recomendation. I have ordered Phil’s book on Amazon today..
    Looking forward to trying the recipes!

    p.s Nigella is my foodie heaven Queen.. think she has to have a better oven!!

    Sonya 🙂

  3. February 13, 2011 6:59 pm

    I made this with orange and loved it. I am glad to hear the lime is worth trying. We are not big lime people and I thought, I should play it safe with orange. Maybe, next time, I will take the risk. It is one good cake.

Leave a Reply

