Skip to content

Halloween baking: scary sculls biscuits recipe

October 31, 2010

I wanted to be seasonal with this week’s baking challenge, and so when I came across these sweet looking biscuits, I just couldn’t resist. Handily, I still also had some morello cherry jam left over from one of the food festivals I went to last month.

These were probably the simplest biscuits I’ve ever had to make, I didn’t even had to crack out the electric whisk for these. Simply put butter, sugar, vanilla essence and an egg yolk into a bowl and use a big spoon to mix it all together. Slowly add the flour and voila you have the basic mixture. It’s a wondrous work out for the arms though – it really is shocking they don’t include it in gyms isn’t it?

Anyway, after chilling for a while, it was time to roll out the dough and create the shapes. Believe it or not, I didn’t have a skull shaped cookie cutter, but rather I just rolled these in the palm of my hands, squashed it onto the baking tray then pinched the bottom of the circle to make a jaw line. I don’t have an apple corer to make the eyes either, as recommended in the recipe, so I made do, as you do, with the ‘other’ end of a whisk.

A few ticks later and the biscuits were ready, all I had to do was pair them up as best as I could to and insert the lovely glistening cherry jam in between. Next was the really tricky part, the icing. I’ve never been particularly prestigious at icing neatly, especially when I don’t have the appropriate piping bags.

On this occasion I made do with sandwich bags pricked with only the teeniest of tiny holes and squeezed the decorations on with due care. This is the part the took the longest and was trickiest, but I think they’ve turned out well in the end, are suitably spooky.

Usual nonsense:

Difficulty: 1/5 Easy as pie, except for the icing bit, then you’ll need a little more patience.

Taste: 4/5 I’m a sucker for simple flavours, so I love these. Others may find them a tad basic.

Amendments: Used cherry jam instead of raspberry, I’d recommend using whatever you have to hand.

Chance of remake: Maybe at Christmas I’ll do Santas or Christmas trees…

You can find the scary scull biscuit recipe on BBC Good Food.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 11:15 am

    I am going to have them at 11… hmmm… hope will not have nightmares afterwards!

Leave a Reply

