Skip to content

Lemon drizzle and cherry cupcakes

October 12, 2010

I love making cakes with only store-cupboard ingredients. I feel thrifty and all domestic-goddess like. “Oh these, just something I whipped up” I can say. And it was so, with these lemon drizzle and cherry cakes. The only thing I needed to buy was a lemon – and even then I could have done without it (as I had lemon juice in a bottle), but wanted to add the zest to the sponge for extra special lemonyness.

This bake also made a nice change as there wasn’t ridiculous amounts – just 12, perfectly formed cakes. A lot of recipes I make, you tend to end up with far too many leftovers that you’re sick of by the time you’ve been guilted into eating the 15th one.

Everyone loves cupcakes, or fairycakes, or whatever you want to call them, and these were no different. I mostly like them because they are so easy to make. Yes, it’s a bung-em-all in method again. I got these quirky cases from Ikea, so everyone’s probably got them by now. I felt slightly paranoid after watching The Great British Bake Off that my cakes weren’t all exactly the same size – but at the end of the day, I think only Mary Berry would disapprove, nobody else seemed to mind.

The props for this bake have all come from my recent foodie outings. Cases from Ikea, plate from The Pumping Station and even the blue card from an Abergavenny art shop. I love the bright colours, and how the modern stylings of the cases clashes with the old-fashioned plate.

The usual:

Taste: 3/5 I loved the lemony drizzle, but I think this could work potentially work better with fresh cherries.

Difficulty: 2/5 The most difficult part is trying to make sure you keep your cakes roughly the same size – and I always find chopping glace cherries a little tricky.

Amendments: It called for only the juice of one lemon for the icing, but I love lemon so much that I added extra from my storecupboard – the result was very tangy (but still sweet).

Chance of remake: I’d like to give it a go with fresh cherries, or perhaps raspberries and see what the difference is.

You can find a good lemon cupcake recipe on the Waitrose website. My recipe came from an advertorial in an old issue of BBC Good Food. You can adapt the waitrose recipe and include a “surprise cherry” in the middle of the cake by poking one into each cake before you put them in the oven.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

