Skip to content

Marmalade and ginger cream cookies – Sainsbury’s magazine

October 2, 2010

A well-made biscuit really is a thing of beauty. A perfect, delightful snack to indulge in for elevenses or accompanying a cup of tea. And they somehow, to me at least, always seem slightly less naughty than a full-blown cake.

It was with that in mind that I decided on this week’s challenge bake. These marmalade and ginger cream cookies looked superb in Sainsbury’s magazine, and, what’s more even contained oats in (everyone knows anything with oats in can’t be bad for you).

I came over ever so slightly Paddington Bear when I opened the jar of marmalade. To see that glistening, orange, gelatinous substance sparkling away was mesmerising, and I couldn’t wait to see how these biscuits would taste.

This bake was, for the most part, simple. Combine oats, sugar, flour, an egg yolk, butter, and of course the marmalade together for the biscuit part. The trickiest part here was getting the mix off the spoon and onto the baking sheet in a vaguely sensible shape. Of course, the point here isn’t to make the roundest biscuit, so it doesn’t really matter if they’re not very neat.

The recipe stated that cooking time would be around 15 minutes. I upped this to 20, since I like a crispy, crunchy biscuit. If you leave it at 15, I imagine the result would still be delightful though, so this part is up to you.

Now for the ginger cream part. I didn’t have any crystallised stem ginger. Funnily enough, my teeny tiny local shops don’t sell it, and I couldn’t even find any in the market. I read on a forum that you could try and recreate the same kind of texture with ground ginger and golden syrup, two ingredients I have in abundance. I added more ginger than was strictly necessary, but I am a gingerholic of course. The result does somewhat relegate the marmalade flavour into second place, so you might want to bear this in mind should you try the recipe yourself and aren’t quite so obsessed with ginger as I.

With these not being the prettiest things I’ve ever baked, the challenge in this week’s photography was to try and keep them looking appealing. I think I acheived that, but you can judge for yourself.

The usual rigmaroll:

Taste: 3.5/5 I like these, they’re a satisfying afternoon treat, but they’re not something that is going to have you screaming wow from the rooftops.

Difficulty: 2/5 Some pretty hefty stirring here, and be careful with your timings depending on how crispy you want your biscuits.

Amendments: I didn’t have any stem ginger, so golden syrup and ground ginger did the trick nicely, I cooked them for slightly longer than the recipe suggested.

Chance of remake: 3/5 These were yummy, I can’t deny that, but I don’t think I’ll be in a huge hurry to make these again, that said, there is a lot of marmalade and oats left, so it wouldn’t be a chore!

This recipe came from Sainsbury’s Magazine, February 2010. Delia has a good preserved ginger and oat biscuits recipe, which you could adapt to include marmalade.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

