Skip to content

Raspberry brownies – Sainsbury’s Magazine or… What to cook for colleagues

September 21, 2010

I have been food blogging for many months, as regular readers will know. However, during that time, I have not shared my weekly baked treats with my co-workers. What’s the reason? Selfish? Greedy? Not really. I bake on Saturday, by the time Monday rolls around, the baked goods won’t be at their optimum, and then there’s the issue of carting whatever it is I’ve made into another country (well, technically, I live in Wales, work in England). [Continues below].

Quite rightly, however, my colleagues decided that they would no longer stand for this outrage and demanded that I bring something in to share. This filled me with all kinds of dread and despair. What if the thing I made turned out to be rubbish, and this was their first impression of my skills?

Bearing in mind freshness, I decided to wait until the night before work to make these, to make sure they would be at their best. But disaster (well, minor setback) occurred when my local shops contained neither cherries, nor soft brown sugar. Thwarted, and no time to return to the shops, I had to turn up to work empty handed, to howls of disgust, outrage and I’m surprised I managed to keep hold of my job. I’m kidding of course, but I’m trying to set a scene here, OK?

The next day, still unable to find cherries I decided to swap them for raspberries. Finally armed with ingredients I set about my masterpiece. It was quite easy getting to the tinning stage. Favouring my usual method of bunging everything in a bowl and mixing it together until it resembles a cake mixture I was all set to go.

40 minutes later and the ping of my oven timer alerted me it was time to take the cake out of the oven. Yipee. I did the skewer test, came out clean, job done I thought and left my cake to cool on a cooling grid. I was not prepared for what happened next. Later, I came back to box up my brownie only to find myself in the middle of an epic catastrophe.

The cake had sunk in the middle, and when I tried to cut it apart, it was clear that not all of it had cooked. THE SKEWER LIED! What’s more, my cooling grid, which isn’t as good as a cooling rack because the metal is too far apart, had only hindered the process by allowing parts of the cake to sink into it.

Beginning to panic now, I couldn’t walk in empty-handed again, and I didn’t want to spend another hefty chunk of cash on ingredients, I made the obvious rational decision to quit baking forever, close the blog and declare myself a kitchen failure. Of course. My boyfriend then pointed out that it would be much easier to just put the cake back in the oven for a bit longer. I suppose he had a point, so back in it went.

Thankfully it did cook through, and more importantly I learned a couple of lessons. Don’t trust the skewer test 100%, if you have to use a smaller (but taller) tin then it shouldn’t come as a surprise that cooking time should be increased, and, I need to invest in a proper wire cooling rack.

So after all that, here’s the usual stuff:

Taste: 4.5/5 I love raspberry and chocolate, so once this had cooked properly, it was the ideal brownie for me, lovely.

Difficulty: 3/5 After the first part, I would have said 1/5, but all that cooling rack nonsense really impeded things here.

Amendments: Raspberries, not cherries. Raspberry milk chocolate in place of some of the fresh raspberries.

Chance of remake: 4/5 If my stress can handle it, I’d like to try this with other fruits, perhaps even the original cherries.

You can find brownie recipes all over the place, this one came from Sainsbury’s Magazine August 2010. You can find a good raspberry brownie recipe here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 10:19 am

    I must say that I tried Amy’s brownies and they were delicious. She might regretting making them though, as now we demand more ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. @thedimmick permalink
    September 28, 2010 10:31 pm

    Hi there, first of all nice blog! Secondly, I baked these last Saturday with my daughter. We used Green & Blacks 72% choc and Malteser cocoa powder. Baked in a proper 10″ ti’n rented from Cake Supplies on Lower Cathedral Rd / Claire Rd. I let them cool, inthe ice bath, then popped each wedge in the microwave for 30secs and served them with vanilla ice-cream and fresh raspberries. Result: clean plates and massive compliments from everyone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good luck!

    Steve

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/share/366484123

    • amydavies permalink*
      September 28, 2010 11:06 pm

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks so much for your kind comments!

      I can’t believe you can rent tins?!?!

      Lower Cathedral Road is just a few minutes from where I live… I feel an exploration mission coming…

      Mmmm…. I’m hungry for these again ๐Ÿ˜€

      Amy

Trackbacks

  1. Nigella flourless chocolate and lime cake « The Saturday Baking Challenge

Leave a Reply

