Skip to content

Simple Jammy Biscuits recipe – BBC Good Food

September 14, 2010

Simple jammy biscuits

This week’s challenge was really no challenge in the kitchen at all. I was cooking in my parents’ kitchen, and the challenge was rather to find a simple recipe that could be done with the minimum of both fuss and ingredients – but they still needed to look good for the photos.

I came across this simple jammy biscuits recipe on the BBC Good Food website and knew that they would be perfect for this task. It’s very true that often the simplest of foods can look the most stunning, and I knew the red dashes of raspberry jam would work well.

I also had in the back of my mind that I would be able to get my hands on some vintage props, thanks to my grandmother, to use for this shoot. So, there, in the picture you see some genuine, well-loved, well-used but still in superb condition 1940s/50s Midwinter crockery. We think they are over 50 years old, but aren’t 100% sure on the dates.

It was much to my delight that my grandmother said I could keep the props used for this bake, which is fantastic news, and I’ll try to love them just as much as she has over the years. [continues below]

Simple jammy biscuits

It wasn’t only the props that made this bake, but the shooting location. You may remember from my earlier posts that I am VERY keen to start doing more outdoor shoots, and there’s nothing more perfect than a beautiful garden. The light is fantastic, the flowers in the background, and in this case, a lovely metal garden table really add to the atmosphere in this shot, and it’s one of my favourites since I’ve been writing The Saturday Baking Challenge.

The usual gubbins:

Difficulty: 0.5/5 It’s not often you see bakes less than 1 in difficulty, but I could describe the recipe to you in 1 sentence. Mix flour, sugar and butter until it resembles bread crumbs, mix in a beaten egg and roll out on a floured surface. Voila. Anyone really can do this.

Taste: 4/5 Sweet with a hint of tang, the perfect tea-time treat.

Amendments: I prefer raspberry jam to strawberry, so substituted it, but you could really use any flavour (or mix of flavours) you like.

Chance of remake: 4/5 These were whipped up in 5 minutes, I can easily see myself whipping up more batches when in the mood for a few biscuits.

You can find this week’s simple jammy biscuits recipe on the BBC Good Food website.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2010 8:51 pm

    Hi Amy

    I don’t know if you’d be interested but I have just got my hands on my granny’s and great granny’s recipe books including the 1959 edition of ‘Good Housekeepings Cookery Compendium’, Light Fare Recipes for Cornflour and Raisley Cookery which we believe is 1920s & Farmhouse Fare which is 1940s.
    Both were prolific and accomplished cake makers and I’m fascinated by the history these books represent and also how tastes and what is regarded as acceptable ingredients have changed – I’ve just seen a recipe for gingerbread that uses lard for example?
    As I am now the family cake maker I’m in the process of plowing through them to document them so the recipes and history don’t die out. My granny is now 90 years old and unable to bake anymore which saddens us, hopefully I’ll be able to carry on the traditions.
    Trudy

    • amydavies permalink*
      September 15, 2010 9:36 pm

      Hi again Trudy,

      Those books sound amazing! I have seen an “old-fashioned” recipe books in one of the shops I walk past quite a lot, and am often tempted by it. I’ve also seen another one called something like “Grandma’s recipe book” or similar that I might buy one day…

      I’m really the first one in my family to derive such joy from baking. Although my grandmother has been making the same cake every week for many many many years (and it is delicious so I can’t blame her), I haven’t seen any cookbooks around the house for me to pinch. She has given me her cake recipe, so I will try it very soon and see if I can match her 50 years of expertise!

      It’d make a great post though to do a comparison taste test with old recipes versus new, for instance with your gingerbread example. I’ll give this a think, thanks for a great idea!

      Amy

  2. September 16, 2010 2:02 pm

    Hi,
    It’s my first time here, and you have a lovely site with great recipes. This biscuit recipe is a great find and they look so good.

    • amydavies permalink*
      September 16, 2010 2:05 pm

      Hi Nancy,

      Thanks for dropping by!

      I just had a look at your site, it’s also beautiful – I LOVE LOVE LOVE Mexican food!!!

      Can you recommend any Mexican desserts/cakes etc that I could try for my blog? I’m really keen to a special feature on baking from around the world?

      Amy

Leave a Reply

