Skip to content

Chocolate tiffin recipe – adapted from various

August 11, 2010

During this bake I had my first unrescuable baking disaster. I can’t quite believe it really, as this was a bake that I’ve done before in various guises, and it’s honestly one of the easiest you can do.

So what went wrong? I took my eye off the ball when heating the pan to melt the chocolate in. As anyone with any baking experience will know, chocolate is a temperamental little ingredient, and if you heat it beyond a certain temperature, the chocolate will separate and you’ll be left a gooey, gritty and unattractive mess. Or, to use the proper term, the chocolate seized.

And that’s what happened to me. I was in a rush and completely forgot the cardinal rule of melting chocolate, and there we have it, 400g of chocolate completely wasted. Luckily I hadn’t spent lots of money on very high quality chocolate, but it is still money wasted, but I suppose I will know better in future!

Keen not to let this stand in the way, I raided my baking cupboard and found that I was able to scrape together 200g of leftover chocolate from previous bakes. And, even though the ruined chocolate was milk, and the salvaged chocolate was dark, I didn’t mind. I decided that I would make up half the recipe today, buy some more milk chocolate to make the rest and have a variety instead. So, I suppose in the end, it almost turned out for the best.

Second time around and making sure I was ultra careful, I melted the chocolate over a very low heat, stirring constantly. I soon saw the lovely, velvelty, luscious texture that was required. As this wasn’t really following a specific recipe, but a combination of all the tiffin recipes I’ve seen, I just used whatever ingredients I had to hand, but you can follow the recipe below.

Chocolate tiffin recipe

You will need:
400g dark / milk chocolate
100g dried fruit
100g glace cherries or stem ginger
2 crunchie bars
4 tablespoons runny honey
120g butter (preferably unsalted)

Method:

1.Heat the butter, honey and chocolate together over a very low heat.
2.Once melted together and smooth, take the pan off the heat, pour the mixture into a bowl and leave to cool a while.
3.Meanwhile, roughly chop the other ingredients. When the chocolate mixture is slightly cooler, mix everything together.
4.Pour the finished mixture into a greased tin and chill in the fridge until set. Cut into blocks, or shape using cookie cutters.

I used Crunchie bars as I like the honeycomb effect, but you could substitute these for another type of sweet or chocolate bar you like, or transform the recipe into Rocky Road by adding marshmallows.

So in the end, I had 2 varieties, and, believe it or not, it turned out to be a blessing in disguise, as the dark chocolate tiffins were nicer, probably because the sweetness of the other ingredients worked well against the bitterness of the chocolate.

Taste: 4/5 Although the dark chocolate variety were better, both were a decadent treat.

Difficulty: 3/5 Normally I would have rated this as a 1, it really shouldn’t be difficult, but take your eye off the chocolate and you’ll find a disaster on your hands.

Amendments: Well as this was a hotchpotch of recipes, you could say that lots of amendments were made, but the basic make up of chocolate + butter + honey + other ingredients is basic enough.

Chance of remake: Tiffin is always a good fallback recipe, so most definitely.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

