Skip to content

Raspberry Bakewell Cake – BBC Good Food

July 31, 2010

This is another one of those bakes that has been sitting in my cooking folder for months longing to be made. I finally got round to it this week.

I absolutely adore raspberries, and any recipe with them in, I find myself immediately drawn to. I’m actually not so keen on almonds, or any nuts, really, but I’m desperately trying to train myself otherwise. Hence, the raspberry bakewell cake.

This was a relatively easy cake to make, and pretty much just consisted of the usual chuck everything into a bowl mentality of other cakes I’ve made. This was a tiny bit trickier as you had to pour half the mixture in, dump the raspberries in, and then try and spread the other half of the mixture on top. This is only a thin cake, so trying to get the spread across proved a little more difficult than other cakes I’ve made. [continues below]

I was also using the wrong size of tin (shock horror!) so in the end, this cake did end up a little thinner that it should have. I’ll have to remember to scour eBay for some cake tins so I have ones in every size next time.

This week I had the fortune of photographing the cake in a friend’s house. It was great to be in a different environment to my own flat, and a window with a tree outside made for (what I think) is a great background. They also had the most perfect light in their hallway – I can see myself returning here often for photographs. I hope they don’t mind – they do get to eat the produce afterwards, so surely not.

Back to the important stuff:

Taste: 4/5 Yum, yum and yum again. Even if those pesky almonds do take a bit of getting used to.

Difficulty: 2/5 Dead easy on the most part, with just a dash of trickyness, easy enough to overcome.

Amendments: None, aside from making it in a smaller tin than the recipe suggested I suppose.

Chance of remake: I’d definitely be up for making this again, although with so many other bakes I must admit it won’t be at the front of the queue.

You can find this week’s Raspberry Bakewell Cake recipe on the BBC Good Food website.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 4:55 am

    Hi Amy,
    Love your site and passion for baking – keep up the inspiration.
    It is great 🙂

    May

    • August 12, 2010 7:35 pm

      Thanks May – so glad you like it and very rewarding to know people are enjoying the site. If you have any suggestions please do feel free to let me know =)

  2. September 15, 2010 8:28 pm

    love your site…..I too am a cake lover and appreciate the joy it appears to bring! I too make a lot of cake for free! Maybe one day I’ll be making cake as part of a business idea!

    You’re now bookmarked!

    • amydavies permalink*
      September 15, 2010 9:22 pm

      Hi Trudy,

      Thanks so much for your kind comments! I don’t think there’s much money to be had in baking on the kind of small-scale cake shop I’d like to run. I’d love to run a cake-shop that sold “cake of the day”, a different cake every day, or at least every week, but the cost of doing this would be too much.

      For instance, I made Brownies yesterday for my co-workers. I spent about £8-9 making them, and they would make about 8-10 of the large brownies I see selling for £1 in my local cafe. But maybe I can make a living from making artisan cakes one day!

      Thanks for the bookmark, very much appreciate that! You can also subscribe (Follow the link at the top of the page) if you’re interested 🙂

      Amy

Leave a Reply

