Skip to content

Blueberry and sultana teacake – Delicious July 2009

July 25, 2010

This is a make I’ve been wanting to do for a year! A whole year. I saw this recipe for Blueberry teacake in last year’s July Delicious Magazine edition and thought it would make a fantastic bake, not to mention a fantastic photo.

But for one reason or another, I never got round to making it. Perhaps I knew in the back of my mind that I didn’t have beautiful tea props to go with it. That was, until this week.

After a bumper week of prop buying and waiting for deliveries from eBay (more on this soon!) I felt I finally had everything I needed – in this case a beautiful vintage Midwinter cake stand and a not so vintage teacup and side plate.

It’s not that often that I make traditional cakes. I’m not sure why that is, because this is lovely. I didn’t have quite enough blueberries so I chucked in a few sultanas to make up the weight.

I had a bit of a problem when the cake didn’t seem to be cooking despite giving it an extra 10 minutes in the oven. I decided to just get it out and hope for the best. A few minutes later and the middle of the cake had sunken. But never mind, it was only the very centre and with this being cut into small slices nobody need know – in fact why am I writing this! (Only kidding!) [continues below]

I left off the optional cream cheese icing on this one. I felt like I’d been having a cream cheese overload lately, and besides which it’s cheaper and better for you (groan) to leave it off I suppose. Instead I drizzled it with a little lemon icing.

I’ve done a bit more Photoshop experimenting with this week’s main picture. I’m still not sure if I like it or not… let me know if you like…

Right, back to the important business!

Taste: 4/5 Lemony, blueberry-ery and delicious. Yum yum.

Difficulty: 2.5/5 Pretty easy for anybody with a little baking sense.

Amendments: Left off the cream cheese icing, added some sultanas.

Chance of remake: I can see this being a great little cake that can change depending on what’s in season. I imagine it would also be delicious with any other type of berry, or cherry.

Check out this blueberry teacake recipe to give it a go yourself!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

