Skip to content

Olive best ever recipes – Baked Raspberry Cheesecake – August 2010

July 10, 2010


© Amy Davies

Quite simply, is there anything more resplendent, delicious and decadent than a cheesecake? I happen to think not, especially one that is well made, has just the right amount of biscuit base and has that wonderfully creamy, melt in the mouth texture to it.

Cheesecake is a bit of a anomaly for someone like me. For you see, and I might as well confess this now, *I don’t like cheese*. Can’t stand the stuff, the taste, the texture, the smell. Now, I admit I haven’t tried every single variety of cheese in the world, so there’s probably a fantastic one eluding me, but so far, no such joy.

But cheesecake, well now that’s a different story. It doesn’t taste like cheese, it tastes like whatever you add to it (in this case vanilla essence and raspberries are the dominant flavours), and has a heavenly texture.

Fans of this blog (please tell me there’s at least one) will have noticed that last week I had a extra light cream cheese mini-disaster. This time, it was the other way around, almost. The shop I went to only had the full-fat variety. Now, I’ve made cheesecake before from the extra light stuff and it’s been absolutely fine, so this is probably more decadent than it really needs to be, but oh hey what the heck.

There’s really nothing easier to make than a cheesecake, and yet it still elicits a satisfying “ooh ahh” response in guests, which is lovely. This one, like most others that I have made, involved crushing some biscuits, mixing with butter and then mixing all of the other ingredients in a bowl and pouring over the aforementioned butter-biscuit mixture. What could be simpler.

I’m still working my way through this cheesecake, one satisfying slither at a time. Yum!

Taste: 4.5/5 I don’t want to blow my own trumpet, but this was superb.

Amendments: None.

Difficulty: 2/5 The most difficult part of this was probably making the raspberry sauce to go on top of it (boil up some raspberries and sugar and pass this through a sieve). If only all bakes were so simple.

Chance of remake: It’s difficult to score this one. You’ve just heard me practically drool on the keyboard describing this, but there’s so many flavours of cheesecake that I’m yet to bake, that I suspect I won’t actually be returning to this for a while.

You can find this recipe in the current issue of BBC Olive Magazine, or on the BBC Good Food website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

