Skip to content

Modern Trifle – Delicious Magazine June 2010

May 15, 2010

I don’t quite know how this happened, but I seemed to have made it 23 years on this planet without tasting a trifle. All that changed when we found one reduced in Sainsbury’s not so long back, and of course it was a revelation. It may not be trendy to say this, but what’s not to like? Jelly! Custard! Fruit! Sponge! A winner.

It was with much delight that I came across this recipe in the most recent edition of delicious. It was a modern take on the old trifle, and basically did away with the jelly and custard element, and added a bit of sweet alcohol. This was quite the one for messing around with the recipe as I didn’t have many of the required element. I couldn’t find any strawberries for starters, so I had to make do with blueberries and grapes. I didn’t have any grappa, so in went some amaretto. And lastly I didn’t have any pistchios so I just piled the trifle high with the leftover fruit.

This was a quick and easy fun make, more of a compiling effort than a baking challenge, the biggest effort was mixing together the mascarpone, single cream and sugar, but that was hardly tricky. One that can be quickly whipped up for a lovely after dinner treat. And I like to fool myself into thinking that with all the fruit it can’t be THAT bad for you, can it?

Taste: 4/5 Lovely sweet creamy texture and fresh fruit – oh and of course amaretto, beautiful!

Difficulty: 1/5 If you can’t do this then you should stay out of the kitchen.

Amendments: Aplenty, substituted strawberries for grapes and blueberries, left out the pistachios, swapped grappa for amaretto.

Chance of remake: Something simple like this doesn’t need to wait until Saturdy to enjoy, a good weekday treat that doesn’t take long to whip up, definitely something we’ll be having again.

You can find the trifle recipe I used in the June edition of delicious. magazine, still out now. There are plenty of trifle recipes online however, such as this strawberry trifle from BBC Good Food.

One Comment leave one →
  1. charlotteelizabethclark permalink
    May 19, 2010 12:07 pm

    Mat, I love trifle! It’ gorgeous 🙂 Try the M&S one, one day if you get chance (though I’m sure it won’t be as good as this one)

Leave a Reply

