Skip to content

Food photography tips

April 16, 2010

This week I’ve decided to post a special entry, as some of my images from the Saturday Baking Challenge intermeshed with my working life and became “15 food photography tips” – which you can read over on PhotoRadar.

The tips are gleaned from reading books/websites on the subject and from the experiments with food I’ve been doing over the past couple of years, of course this has mostly been with baking, but looking through some of my old pictures I realised I haven’t photographed any of the more savoury goods I cook – something which I’m keen to get back into.

Here’s one to get you started:

Food photography camera settings

Using a wide aperture will blur the background, making the food the sole attention – and handily helping to disguise any unattractive backgrounds. While you should aim for the best light possible, if it’s dim, don’t be afraid to bump up your ISO to keep your shutter speeds high. Make sure you get the correct white balance too, either by setting it manually or by selecting the appropriate preset conditions – there’s nothing more unappetising than a bizarre blue tinge.

To read 14 more, and to see some beautiful cooked goodies, visit the 15 food photography tips page.

If you have any helpful food photography tips (or indeed baking suggestions, please do let me know by clicking the tabs above.)

I hope you find the tips useful, if you’re budding food photographer drop me a line, I’d love to take a look at your work.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

