Skip to content

Wedding Anniversary Love Biscuits

March 22, 2010

This week I had a special reason to bake – my parents 40th wedding anniversary. The fact that anybody could make it through 40 years of marriage seems like something of a miracle, so what better way to celebrate that than with 40 little love biscuits?

This was a very basic recipe to follow, and required mainly storecupboard ingredients, but what gave this the personal touch was obviously the 40 individual heart shaped biscuits complete with red icing – one for every year of marriage of course.

I found this basic biscuit recipe on the BBC website which worked a treat. Amazingly, it managed to stretch to 40 small biscuits, even though it recommends that this makes just 6-8 (they must be pretty big I guess), but I would perhaps times the recipe by 1.5 if you wanted to achieve a thicker biscuit. [continues below]

The red icing seemed to be about as red as I could get it, it’s almost disappointing that the food colouring couldn’t manage a more intense red, but I suppose the main problem comes from the fact that icing sugar is white so you will always have some dilution of colour.

To accompany the biscuits I hand decorated a presentation box using photos of my parents’ wedding day on various types of paper, tracing paper and sticky back plastic – the old Blue Peter favourite. Find out how to decorate a gift box here.

All in all, it seemed these biscuits went down a treat, and I even managed to sneak a couple for myself from the couple du jour, but I’m sure they don’t mind.

Also this week I baked a present for my sister – generous aren’t I – see the next post for more details on Delia’s double chocolate ginger biscuits.

Taste: 3.5/5 Hardly the most exciting of biscuit – but not the point of these biscuits.

Difficulty: 1/5 The most fiddly bit of this was spreading the icing on the biscuits, but I would wager most people could manage!

Recipe amendements: None, although if you wanted to make slightly thicker biscuits then you’d do well to 1.5 or 2x the ingredients.

Chance of remake: Not long til the 50th anniversary is it?

Leave a Reply

