Skip to content

Lemon Tart – delicious. Magazine July 09

November 29, 2009

This week I decided to go for a real challenge and selected a Lemon Tart from delicious. magazine that required me to make my own pastry – something I’ve never done before.

I took the recipe from delicious, which frustratingly doesn’t give any indication as to how easy (or not) the recipe is going to be, so I just read the method and it seemed doable so I thought I’d give it a shot.

And the results were mixed.

Surprisingly, to me at least, my pastry making went without a hitch. Loading the pastry into tart case was a bit problematic as my case is slightly smaller than the one recommended in the recipe so I had too much leftover. I thought it would be best to put extra pastry in the case, which ended up with it looking a bit uneven and taking slightly longer to cook than suggested.

If I make this again I’d reduce the amount of pastry to create a more even pastry base – you’ll see the uneven results in the pictures – it’s not a disaster, but then again it’s not perfection.

My smaller pastry case coupled with a thicker layer of pastry again meant I had too much filling (I estimate that I could probably make another tart with the extra filling I’ve got leftover), but I suppose it’s better to have too much than too little. Making the filling was pretty easy, the only fiddly part being the grating of 3 lemons and the juicing of 4.

It’s worth noting that this recipe is not for someone who is time conscious. The recipe describes it as taking “40 minutes to make”, and “1 hour to cook” but with a not unsubstantial 2 hours cooling time (2 half hours cooling the pastry at various stages and 1 hour (at least) cooling the finished tart – I ate some about 90 minutes later and it was still warm), this is not something that can be whipped up in a hurry.

Most importantly however is the taste test, and this tart does not disappoint. The lemons are zingy, but not overpowering and the pastry has just the right amount of sweetness without straying into sickly territory. Definitely one I’ll try again and hope for slightly better pastry results.

Difficulty level: 3/5 Lots of waiting around and fiddly pastry making may put off the casual baker.
Recipe amendments: None, although next time I would make less filling and pastry for my tart tin.
Taste: 4/5
Chance of remake: 4/5

You can find the recipe in the July edition of .delicious magazine, or find a similar recipe on the delicious. website (the recipe I used didn’t include almonds).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

