Skip to content

Gingerbread Men (and other shapes) – Good Food December 09

November 21, 2009

This week I decided to cook gingerbread men (and stars and hearts) taken from December’s issue of Good Food Magazine.

This is the third time I’ve cooked gingerbread men, but I was visiting family this week and wanted to take something with me which I knew I’d cracked and would be popular – this seemed like the perfect choice. Luckily I was able to learn some lessons from my previous attempts.

There were two big problems with this recipe when I first tried it:
1. If you place the gingerbread too close to each other on the baking tray, you will end up with one giant gingerbread shape (very unsightly, but perhaps useful if you find yourself cooking for a giant) and
2. Because I don’t have large cutters as reccommended in the recipe, the cooking time is slightly less than stated and leading to hard gingerbread.

Bearing this in mind, I now spread the gingerbread as far as part as possible, and keep a careful eye on the oven. This time, it went without a hitch and hopefully my family will agree that this simple recipe is delicious.

Difficulty level: 2/5 (keeping an eye on the oven can be tricky as you might not know what you’re looking for the first time you make these)
Recipe amendments: I couldn’t find any balls of stem ginger so left this out and increased the amount of ground ginger slightly. Used orange and lemon cake decorations instead of Smarties/glace cherries.
Taste: 4/5
Chance of remake: 4/5

You can find the recipe in the December Issue of Good Food, or on the Good Food website. See below for images of the finished product!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eva permalink
    November 22, 2009 11:43 pm

    Looks great am def going to try this out Amy!

    • amydavies permalink*
      November 23, 2009 11:35 am

      Glad you think so Eva, be sure to let me know how it goes.

      P.S. Mine went down a treat with the family, only got to eat a couple myself (still, that’s probably a good thing for the waistline!).

Leave a Reply

